Terms & Conditions

Enrollment and Service Offerings

Central Coast Community Energy (3CE) is the current primary electric generation service provider for 16 cities and the 3 unincorporated areas in Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz Counties 1, as well as the cities of Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo and in early 2021, for the cities of Arroyo Grande, Carpinteria, Del Rey Oaks, Goleta, Grover Beach, Guadalupe, Paso Robles, Pismo Beach, Santa Maria, Solvang,  and the unincorporated areas of Santa Barbara County. In accordance with California State Law, 3CE is required to mail four notifications; 60 and 30 days prior to the enrollment month and 30 and 60 days after the enrollment month.  Accounts within 3CE’s service area are automatically enrolled in 3CE’s 3Cchoice carbon-free electric service, during the designated month based on each customer’s meter read date, unless the account holder chooses to opt-out and remain with your utility provider. 3CE customers may also opt-up to 3Cprime and support 100% Eligible Renewable energy from wind and solar, for an extra penny per kWh.

 

Rates and Financial Assistance Programs

3CE electric generation rates are designed to provide customers with the opportunity to support carbon-free 2 electricity at a savings. In 2020, 3CE will provide an estimated 5% cost savings on electric generation charges inclusive of your utility provider’s fees, when compared to your utility provider’s unbundled rates. 3CE follows the regional investor-owned utility rate schedules for residential, commercial and agricultural customers. Financial assistance programs including California Alternate Rates for Energy (CARE), Family Electric Rate Assistance (FERA) and Medical Baseline Allowance remain the same with 3CE.

Billing

3CE account holders will continue to receive a single monthly bill from your utility provider that includes all electricity related charges, including 3CE’s electric generation charge. Your utility provider has always billed customers for electric generation, but this cost was part of a bundled service charge. Now that 3CE oversees how and where your electricity is generated, the electric generation charge that used to be less visible inside a bundled service cost has been separated out for more transparency. The 3CE electric generation charge is not a new charge but it will appear on a separate page. Your utility provider will continue to charge for transmission, distribution, public goods programs and other non-generation charges at the same rates it charges customers who do not receive 3CE service. 

Opt Out

 

Account holders may opt-out of 3CE electric generation service at any time by calling (888) 909-6227 or at 3ce.org/opt-out. There is no fee to opt-out before enrollment or within 60 days after 3CE service starts. Modest fees of $5/residential and $25/commercial account apply thereafter. 


Account holders will need their utility provider account information to process the opt-out request. Account holders who opt-out of 3CE and return to PG&E or SCE bundled service after the enrollment period will not have the option to return to 3CE for a full year and will be subject to PG&E’s or SCE’s terms and conditions of service.

Additionally, your utility provider requires that 3CE customers use one of the following options for returning to PG&E or SCE generation service: Option 1) Return to PG&E or SCE generation service at the end of the current billing cycle on PG&E’s or SCE’s transition rate for a six-month period, changing to standard rates thereafter; or Option 2) Return to PG&E or SCE generation service after six months’ notice, on PG&E or SCE standard rates.

For more information on PG&E’s or SCE terms and conditions visit www.pge.com/cca or www.sce.com/partners/partnerships/community-choice-aggregation. Accounts will be transferred on the day the electric meter is read and cannot be transferred during the middle of a billing cycle. Opt out requests received at least 5 days prior to a customer’s meter read date will be processed for that meter read date; all other opt out requests will be processed on the subsequent meter read date. Customers who opt out or otherwise stop receiving service from 3CE will be charged for all 3CE electricity used before ending 3CE electric service.

Failure to Pay

3CE may transfer any account to PG&E or SCE upon 15 calendar days’ written notice if the account holder fails to pay their bill. If service is transferred, the account holder will be required to pay opt out fees described above.

1 3CE will serve electric accounts in the Cities of Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo, as well as the unincorporated areas of Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz counties and all cities in those counties except Del Ray Oaks and King City.

Clean and renewable power sourced from wind, solar, hydro, eligible clean and renewable energy sources to meet the total annual demand of 3CE customers.